border

this girl...

September 17, 2002 at 7:49 a.m.

ooooo, yesterday was hellish... but I'm not going into that yet.... I have incredible news (cross your fingers, the ticket isn't purchased yet, buuuuut....)

URMI IS COMING TO MY HOUSE IN COLORADO FOR THANKSGIVING!!!!!!!!!

*pant pant pant*

I'm so beside myself happy that I just can't describe it. Life IS good. This is my reward for doing my homework, I think. I'll take it!!

but now onto my day and what I learned yesterday...

well, I can't really say I learned anything, but I saw something that made me pause to the point of being frozen...

I had to drive around downtown Tempe yesterday, looking for my bank so I could depsit some money and not have yet another warrant out for my arrest. Dang it.

I got pretty lost, and the morning traffic scares me, so I ended up parking a few blocks away from the back and hiked it over.

But just before I got to the parking structure, I saw this girl waiting at the crosswalk who made me pause... she wore a white shirt and it was obvious she was wearing make-up, but akwardly. In fact, that's the word I would suet o describe her - akward. She had a pile of books in her arms and moved about like a scared rabbit - uncomfortable in her skin and the situation of life...

I winced when I saw her. I could feel her obvious discomfort and it made my tummy hurt. I said a little prayer, hoping she would find some happy.

As I left the pasking structure to hoof it the the bank, I passed that same intersection, only now the girl was laying in the middle of it, surrounded by firefighters and passers-by. Her books were stacked neatly next to her head, and she was crying and screaming - I just can't forget the look on her face - shame, fear, pain...

I think she'd been hit by a car. I don't know. I wanted so much to go hug her, but she was surrounded by people and they would have told me to step aside.

I still feel shaken. The rest of the day was disasterous, but here's to another day, eh?

I had Urmi's voice in my head all day yesterday though - "everything is for a reason... find it." Dang I love her. But it's true - if my car hadn't blown up in New Mexico, I wouldn't know that amazing family that brought me here, I wouldn't have met Travis at the rental car place and all his amazing friends...

I don't know why I saw that girl, but I do know while I was getting lost I found the Salvation Army and I'm going there after class to see if I can help. Help me, actually - service does so much more for the giver that the receiver can know.

@!$#!@#@%$#^%#&^%#%$@^#^%$^@^#%$*^#%&^$^%$^*%$^%

I have my first blind date on Saturday. With a guy who is friends with a guy who is the husband of a girl I met on the bus.

Oh, what a tangled web we weave when we let people set us up....

SUPERCRACK says HUG SOMEONE. I cannot stress this enough!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel