border

Life in exile

September 25, 2006 at 2:27 p.m.

So here I sit in the Jaguariuna Mall - it's not even a mall to the locals, just a 2 floor bukding with a few shops and a movie theater that only shows one movie at a time, 2 shows a night.

Buuut, it has an internet cafe! So after unpacking and cleaning this morning, I am treating myself to 2 hours of connection to the real world. It's so surreal to not have contact with anyone - no phone, no wireless hub at the house... I'm seriously trying to not go insane.

We officially live in Jaguariuna now - all our suitcases are here and there is no possible way we can ever fill this house up. Okay, volume wise, probably - it's all tile and everything that happens in the neighborhood echoes through our place like mad, but there's no amount of furniture we can get to fill this place up. oh - and speaking of noise - guess what wakes us up EVERY MORNING now???

A FREAKING PAIR OF ROOSTERS!!! They live down the street and they will NOT shut up. We are in negotiations right now - Jared wants a gun to hit them (he says a .22 would work just fine - whatever that is) and as much as I hate guns, I'm warming up to the idea. Stupid roosters!!! This county doesn't have any friggin zoning laws!!!

Yesterday, Jared spotted a cow and some dogs playing down the street. Oh, and a mango tree is also directly across the street from us. He almost wet himself when he saw that.

Soooo, I have just a few minutes left before I get booted off this computador, so what bits of news do I have to share??

* Officially, I have 8 days until my due date. Does that scare anyone as much as it scares me??

* My MIL shows up on Friday, bringing the 2 suitcases we filled to the brim with as much of the baby things I was given as we could. I'm so looking forward to getting those things - just to feel a tiny bit more prepared.

* The ladies at church are throwing me a baby shower this weekend. The have so little, and they want to throw ME a party and buy me things?? I'm seriously overwhelmed. But they won't let Jared come - and none of them speak English. This could be interesting...

* We tested out the jacuzzi with the waterfall in our bathroom. Doesn't make up for this INSANE mess, but it does make it a little nicer to survive!

* I think the other people in this internet cafe are swearing in Portuguese, at least the volume they are yelling at their video games and p0rn downloads sounds like they are yelling. Okay, I'm a pregnant housewife (that's what it said on my freaking visa papers - dude I was so mad!!) so I have time to be in a place like this at 2pm on a Monday. What they heck are all these guys supposed to be doing??

* Jared tried to make peach cobbler and we both attempted biscuits and gravy yesterday - needing some Southern comfort food. Not so sucessful - the biscuits never rose beyong hockey puck status and the cobbler... oh gosh, let's just say that was scary. Anyone hav any recipies for comfort food that I might beg off of you? The ingredients here are hard to understand, but I could use some comfort...

* WE DON'T HAVE A DISHWASHER. And they are so expensive, I don't know if we'll be getting one. I feel like some prissy American Teen Princess here (from the funniest movie ever - anyone besides Annie able to name it??) but I can't be washing dishes constantly - I'm afraid they are never clean enough and it's this neverending process. I can take only so much and I know I am a pampered girl, never living without that or hot water (2 days of cold showers already people - but Jared just bought a new showerhead thatmight have fixed it - that's another insane story) and all those other inventions that make my life as a 21st century woman oh-so-easy, but I don't know if I can live without a dishwasher.... How barbaric!!!!!

Thanks for all the positive thoughts on my behalf. I'm trying really, really hard to not add pre-partum depression to the very possible post-partum depression possibilities.

If it's legal to have a rooster in a residential area (not that there is such a thing here), is it legal to freaking KILL the stupid bird? Good golly that would be so lovely...

The internet cafe gods are sending me away. Have a loverly day all!

SUPERCRACK thinking murderous thoughts...is it murder if it's a rooster? I mean legally and all... not chickenslaughter...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel