border

guest writin'

October 30, 2002 at 5:56 p.m.

oooo, this entry is goona be a treat:)

First off, a quick clip from one of Annie's e.mails... dang she's so freaking funny....

*******

So, the disadvantages of dating a med student-- We were talking about what we'd done during the day and I mentioned I'd had same blood tests done to make sure my thyroid wasn't freaking out again. So, later when we were snuggling on the couch, he started feeling around my neck. Not sensually, but poking and stuff. I asked him what he was doing. "Checking your thyroid". I like him but he's kind of a freak.

**********

Heehee....

So on to the real stuff. oooo.... this is a real treat... at least for me:) I asked Loren to be a guest wrtier here and tell his side of the "How I met Reva" story and I'd tell my side of "How I met Loren." It's cute, I promise!

Sooooooo - here's "How I Met Reva" by Loren:)

So it goes like this, I love to play the harmonica and in as such take any opportunity to do so without much reservation. So when my friend Dan and I got asked to play a few numbers at a party up in Denton I agreed without question and thought little of the event untill the night of. Expecting the usual mormon party scene, (punch, white cookies, some chex mix, and little social interaction besides missionary tag and other mindless adolescent games) Dan and I conned a few other friends to come with us up to Denton as to provide at least a few guaranteed cool people there. Much to my suprise I learned that Denton mormons know how to party (thanks JoAnn).

We pulled up to the house and slowly meandered our way inside where I was greeted by a throng of people and blaring swing music. I myself being somewhat of a swing afficionado became excited by the jumping beat of the music and dull roar of conversation in the room, I was in my element.

At that very moment I was taken aback by the sight of a woman standing in the middle of the room. There was only one light on in the room (except for the icicle christmas lights around the ceiling) which seemed to be shining right on her. She was alone and publicly exclaiming her dismay at the fact that she had no one to dance with. I was overcome, she was beautiful! I immediately recognized her from a picture I had seen at the institute building as a girl named Reva who my friend Dan had told me was "friggin awesome". The picture did her absolutely no justice.

I realized her plight and the opportunity that had been dropped so perfectly into my lap. I felt like every ounce of my being was compelling me to dance with this woman who would otherwise seem completely out of my league. I didn't care I had to take a chance. All of these thoughts transpired in the course of about 3 seconds and then I immediately dropped the jacket (laiden with harps) from off my shoulders (thanks Dan for grabbing it before it hit the ground) and made a beeline towards the most beautiful girl I had ever seen.

I didn't even ask her to dance but rather took her and started dancing. I'm sure I came off as the cockiest most egocentric man in the world but hey... I was in my element, what was I supposed to do. I was amazed, the closer I got to her and the more I was able to observe the more beautiful she became. We danced and I was completely suprised at the fact that she could ACTUALLY DANCE!! Many women profess that they are masters of ballroom dance (especially swing) but few can live up to such claims. So needless to say that Reva's abilities on the dance floor were just phenominal. I was just amazed at how outgoing and fun and open she was, and then add to all of that the fact that she was totally hot!! Now SHE was unique.... SHE was a find.

But wait Loren, there's more! I got done dancing and let the moment carefully file itself in my "incredible moment's in women" folder in my head. Then I was informed that she was about to get up to play her guitar. I didn't think much of it as I have seen many a live perfomance so hey here's another girl who wrote a song right?.... WRONG. I was entranced by her voice, she was the perfect mix of a 40 year old black woman and a young pop singer. Her songs were intriguing and unique. I was immediately a fan. Two or three times I had turned to Dan who was sitting beside me and exclaimed "I love this woman"! Of course I was then expected to play the blues with Dan. Talk about an act to follow.

A side note, have you ever tried to play the blues when you don't feel like it? It really doesn't work, so anyone who had to hear that performance I'm really sorry, come by now and I will gladly play you some real blues (seeing as the woman I love is two states away it shouldn't be a problem getting in the mood). There I was trying to emulate saddness in music when all I could feel was giddy. The performance went ok but I was completely distracted by Reva standing in the back of the room half hiding behind someone biting her finger and just being all sexy and stuff. Fortunately we only had to play two songs and then I gave up the stage to Pirate Bob. I didn't get another chance to talk to her that evening alone but she changed my life that night.

I went home and did the whole "talk about your weekend over some ice cream at midnight" thing with my dad and brother and I told them I had met the most incredible woman EVER. They didn't understand untill I told them that she was totally out of my league and then they started to get what I was saying. I knew I probably would never see this girl again and I knew I would NEVER be given the opportunity to take her out (but then again I believe in miracles) but just meeting her showed me how great a woman could be. I realized that women like her really do exist! They are out there somewhere so I don't have to "settle" for someone who isn't going to make my heart jump out of my chest. I can hold out for the "perfect woman" because I have met one and there had to be more. Well I figured out that there probably aren't any more (sorry guys I took the last one) so I had better do something about it. I couldn't let this woman slip away that easy. So I didn't, but that's another story entirely.

heehee.... isn't he a dear?? I'll try my version of that night, but I don't know if I can even come close to that...

It was the opening night of the winter Olympics, but Joann had this party and wanted me to play guitar and sing as an opening act so I skipped the TV hubalabooo and headed to the party with Pete and Danielle and Ben. I wanted to play so bad because the last time these people had heard me sing was a year ago when the creep playing the drums behind me had just cheated on me and I was slightly a wreck...

And this time it was MY music. Heck yeah. It was slow for a while because everyone was watching the Olympics I guess, but the people who were there were pretty nice. At least I had my people with me... THere was a "DJ" - actually, a guy with some MP3's on his laptop hooked up to a speaker. Wheeeee:)

These parties try too hard to be cool, but I induged too and we all were dancing a little bit.. kind of fun.. until someone turned on some swing music - the sound brings dread to my bones... not that I don't love to swing dance - it's one of my favorite things to do EVER! But... I never can find someone to dance with me. And if I do, they can't dance and I spend the whole time having to lead and teach.. blech.

Everyone suddenly paired up and I was stuck standing in the middle of the floor while everyone was dancing and there was no one for me as usual... instead of getting all embarrased, I got flustered and threw my head back and yelled "SOMEBODY DANCE WITH ME!!!!"

And... I swear this was scripted somewhere - in walks this cute guy I'd never seen before. I didn't even see him until he was right next to me - he grabbed my hands and started dancing - actually dancing!! All the while my sock was coming off (I'd taken off my shoes) and I was wondering why goobery things happen to me...

I was also thinking other random things... like - "This guy can lead! WOw!" and "where did this cutie come from? has he been hiding?" and "you know - this is awfully romantic... wouldn't it be funny if I met the guy like this?? This belongs in a movie!" "huh... and dorky me with my sock coming off like this... what a dork am I!"

When we were done I shook his hand and introduced myself, and he looked at me like he was actually interested in what I had to say.. um... that's new. I got a chance to look at him - golly - he was really cute. How had I missed this one??

We parted ways but I kepot trying to steal glances at him all night. I didn't think he even looked my way but apparently he's quite good at surveilance. Hey, at least he was looking at me!

I got up to play and sing my geeetar and he was sitting in the front row with this goofy smile on his face. Since there's no way in heck that he would ever be interested in me because he was so cute, I ignored him and sang my li'l heart out. I did really well and proved to myself that I'd come a long way from when they'd heard me last... but I had this muse in the front row looking at me with those eyes.. yeah, it helped:)

Then to my surprise, he got up and playedharmonica while Dan played the guitar... he looked adorable, but it took all the self-mastery I had to not stare at him so he wouldn't think I liked him - oh, heavens no! So instead, I heckle them in between numbers. It's what I do, and I'm doggone good at it:)

I didn't think much of him after that... I've learned not to get interested in guys I meet because tehy almost always end up disappointing me because they have no personality or they don't care about me very much... the do that thing where they'll call and say a nice thing or two and you think "hmmm?? cute boy niiiice" but then he neglects you right off the bat and you end up confused.. But we ran into each other again ... and he was still nothing like anyone I'd ever met before. I kept trying to push him away but he wouldn't let me...

but he's right... another story altogether:)

SUPERCRACK says thanks to my guest writers! love you guys:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel