border

concerts and compatibility

June 16th and 17th, 2005 at 10:59 a.m.

Gearing up for a long entry today.. lots of random things in my brain - first off -

Danielle - you know, my partner-ion-crime from San Antonio - is one of the most gorgeous gals I know. Lovely, sweet, and oh-so-nice. You wouldn't know it to look at ehr, but she's a super geek!

Evidence? She's the "pregnant" Padme shown in this pre-opening night Star Wars picture:

The Anakin is her boyfriend and the blue Jedi is her sister. She's wearing a swishy pillow, by the way, for her pregnant tum tum, and went around town with the boyfriend in tow jsut to try it out, Freaked out a few people from church, or so I hear;)

She's also been to the last 3 openings in full Padme costume, remarkable stuff - even dressed as her for prom!! A costumer website even put her costume up as an example of what to do when you just MUST dress up as a Star Wars character.

(um... this is us the night before the big day, trying to figure out a hairstyle taht did not work AT ALL)

()

ignore that.

#$@%!#^@%$#&^#%$@^#@^$#@^$@^$#^@^#%@$#

So last night we were flipping through the tv and saw two verrry interesting things of note.

First, on PBS, there was out of the blue, a Live from Lincoln Center performance of Gil Shaham, one of my 2 favorite classical violinists, playing my favorite violin concerto of all time, the Sibelius!!!

I freaked, a live performance?? He is SO much fun to watch! Every dip in tempo, dynamics, every change in melody and you see it in his face and his body - he grins at hhis favorite parts, he even jumps when he gets excited - he isn't gregarious or fake at all, he's a genuine kid in a candy store, just loving what he does.

I've seen him perform twice in person and even met him once - so sweet and I've had a mad crush on him for years, I'll admit - when he got married a few years ago, I was honestly crushed)

ahhh... what's not to love??

So Jared sits there patiently through the end of the first movement (there are 3) and then goes into the bedroom to watch more Discovery channel or whatever "we build big things and then blow them up" stuff he is into - stuff I watch EVERY day with him, by the way. He makes a concession and watches Gilmore Girls with me in the evening, in between switching the channel over to cop car chases ever 3 minutes.

Okay, I have grasped the fact that my husband is NOT my best girl friend and he will not be everything I will need in life, got it. He doesn't enjoy the music I have spent my entire life studying and making, that's fine. I do not force him. I haven't even gone to see the symphony play since we started dating, which is odd for me since I usually go once a month or so.

So I was in my room, watching my thang and he was in his room, watching his, nice compromise.

Meanwhile, I'm watching the most passionate, exciting performance I've ever seen of this amazing work, it was seriously INCREDIBLE! I was so excited, when it was over, I went into the bedroom and wanted to tell him about it.

I told him about how Gil got his big break at 18 as a subsititute for a sick Itzak Perlman (greatest living violinist) and why he played so wonderfully, hrm, didn't go so well, he didnt' want to hear about it at all.

Freaked me out slightly - well, first it hurt that he wouldn't even listen to me, and then - I married a guy that is this disconnected from my world - I mean, I've spent the majority of my life playing violin anmd classical music, and he can't even bear to listen to one piece without leaving the room? We are different, we make it work - but WHOA - that's a huuuuge difference!!

I'm not a freak. I play the violin. I've played it since I was 3. I listen to his music and I dig it - this is just weird. And it made me upset.

He did try to make it up to me, he brought me some warm cookies and milk and we ended up watching the new show by Morgan Spurlock of Super Size Me, based on the same premise where people live someone else's life for 30 Days.

Morgan and his fiancee tried to live off mimimum wage for 30 days, and it just broke my heart to think that people live like this in the richest country in the world.

The biggest thing that drives me nuts was when they needed to go to the hospital for treatment for hurting themselves and getting sick, the bill was over $400 for each. Why can this country not figure out how to care for all of us like so many other countries have??

When I was in Australia, I got sick and had to see a doctor - and since I had no insurance, I had to pay $20 Australlian dollars. To see a doctor here, my co-pay was $35 when I was sick in AZ with all my arm problems. Arg, seriously!!

There was a thrift store run by a church in the show, where everything was free for those who needed it, like clothing, furniture and other home things.

"There's plenty of stuff to go around - we just need help in spreading it," said the nice man at the store.

So true. And I'm laying there with my husband, watching a big TV in a nice apartment with lots of toys in it. And lots of love. Everyone should be this lucky.

%#$^#@%$#^&$&^#%&^#&^#$&^$&^#%^&$&^$&^$

Well, edit - this is now Friday, I jsut woke up. had a nice day yesterday, but I was still frustrated that Jared couldn't or wouldn't try to understand something that means so much to me.

I'm also hormonal and nuts right now so I - in my infintie wisdom - decide to be mum and bring up the subject at another time when I'm not about to explode (see, learning and growing in this marriage I am - thinking about these things and such:)

But I was quiet when he came home from work, and this made him curious because apparently, I'm never quiet. Dagnabit, that works against me sometimes. So he kept asking what was wrong and I told him, and he apologized. There isn't a shot that I could give him to make him appreciate classical music, and he's already used up a lot of patience trying to be cool with all my celtic music with zee band. So we'll see what happens. Makes me a little nervous.

But he did try to make it up to me - I was really in the mood for ice cream earlier and we didn't have any, so he went out and got some for me. Wouldn't let me go with him - he wanted this to be something sweet he did for me:) So he gets home and makes me a bowl of Death By Chocolate ice cream - my favorite - with chocolate syrup - AND pieces of a Special Dark Hershey's bar!!!

Okay, he's sooo far from being perfect, but he has insane moments of brilliance and how to make his wife happy:)

Not a bad egg. not at all.

SUPERCRACK says have a nice day!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel