border

fondue, Dallin, Urmi, ME!

October 30, 2001 at 8:52 a.m.

I am the most social of people this week, it's cra-zay.

But first, a testimonial.

NOTHING BAD EVER HAPPENS WHEN YOU MAKE FONDUE.

I just have never had a negative experience where my fondue is concerned.... yes Annie, stop drooling, I had my first fondue party in Texas. Now, there is no hot tub here so the effect is different, but still, it was a pure success.

I don't know what it is - you have people eating out of the same pot and they get friendly. And then the singing began.... golly, that's the reason why I started learing the gutiar - I LOVE sing-a-longs. OOoooo, they are so much fun I dream about 'em.

One thing that helped was that the guests were cool - being a good guest is an art. Poop heads that come to a party and expect to be entertained are awful people. You engange in conversation and create a pleasant envirionment. The hostess can't do that with sticks in the mud - ug, I've had parties like that where they all sat around and wouldn't talk to each other... puke-y.

And it was such a mixture... we had my Urmi in all her Urmi-ness, with Pete, who decided to make the most amazing chocolate cheese cake and cheese cornbread... Liz, from my freshman dorm days,,. my oh-so-normal roomate... Michelle, my take charge best friend... Hiro, the one and only Japanese jazz pianist and swing dancer... and three of my LDS friends. Are they didn't really now each other. How did they have fun?

IT WAS ALL THE FONDUE. It's magic food!!!!!!

***************************

Last night, Dallin called me from the airport in Georgia on his way to Santiago Chile. I was waiting for his call and it was so good to hear his voive. I almost cried, but Urmi had done this amazing make-up thing on me for a Halloween dance I went to and I couldn't ... rrrrrr.

She made me look dead - it was incredible - wite face, grey splotches randomly about my decaying torso and she made the black lipstick herself - old chapstick and blackk eyeshadow. GENIUS. All I had to do was go over there and say "Urmi, can you make me look dead?" and she'd never done it before but man, this girl applies make-up better than I play the violin. DUDE.

But anyway - about Dallin - he sounds stronger. He was so shy as a child they wondered if he was okay. Oh, he was and he is. He wouldn't dance with me a few years ago, but now he's so crazy and he's in Chile knocking on stranger's doors wanting to help them find the light.

And I get to know him. I am so blessed. Pray for my Dallin so he'll be okay.

*********************************

And on a final note, I went to the dance with Danielle and you know what she dressed up as... ME. Kid you not - my redpatentleatherdocmartenboots, black vynil pants, a tyedyed shirt, my pin that says "i'd rather go naked than wear a logo," blue mascara, various reva necklaces and my red fireman hat.

I've got to say, I'm slightly tacky but I am cute!! Or she made it look that way.

Man - you should have seen Hiro and a Japanese rock star....

SUPERCRACK SAYS allllmost Happy Halloween!!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel