border

happy happy first year!!

January 17, 2006 at 9:22 a.m.

MUST.... WRITE..... ENTRY!!!!!!!!!!

LIfe has been so busy lately, just full of Happy Happy mostly, and apparently, being happy takes up a lot of time.

On Sunday, Jared and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniverary!!! It was more wonderful than I could have imagined. All year, everytime the day was the 15th, we'd get excited and note that we'd survved another month and had been married for soooo long. Now it's a year.. WOW. I feel like we've hit such a big milestone - I mean, you don't marry someone you've known for 5 months and not get excited that you've known each other now for a year and half and in the whole time you've been married, you're even more in love with each other and you haven't gotten sick of their jokes and vice versa:)

So to celebrate, we did a few things. We headed to a monster truck rally - THAT was an education in The South!! WOW - it was hilarious and we have no desire to go back. But we did it!

One of the bright shining moments occured when Jared confessed that he was uncomfortable because the big guy in a Nascar shirt in front of us kept getting up and blocking his view, and the kids behind him kept kicking his back. Well, there wasn't anything I could do about the big guy because he looked dangerous, but the kids - oh, I know how to deal with kiddos... or at least, I thought I did.

Without thinking, I turned around, looked these kids straight in the eyes and said with a smile: "If you kick my husband one more time, I'm going to kick you back."

And then I turned back around. Jared kept laughing at me, what with threatening to harm them right off the bat. I think he should have been more worried about my parenting skills if I threaten bodily harm lickety split, but he must have not gotten that part. And I make my LIVING teaching children!! HA!

Anywho, Sunday morning we woke up and I made breakfast for the first time. I know, you'd think in a whole year I would have gotten around to it, but I take longer to get ready in the morning than he does, so he'd rather I shower and such while he makes food o we'll be sure to git wherever we need to on time. But we have late, late church now (1PM??? What???) so we had time for me to - yes folks, Reva made baco for te irst time in her life!! Jared was nice and said he liked it burned:) The rest of it was nice too and we lazied around all morning (married lazy-ing is so much nicer than not-married lazy-ing:)) and then went to church. Which was lovely, and I love church with Jared. He puts hi arm around me just right and I feel so good, spiritually and emotionally.

Then we made dinner - we'd gone shopping for all the ingrediens the night before, sooo much fun, planning one spectacular meal. We had steak - I never have it so it was a treat - we fixed up our fancy meal, lit some candles and had dinner in our own house on our anniversary:) It just kept hitting me how amazed it had been a year and how much I love him.

So I gave him his gift right after dinner because I could wait anymore - I made him a "movie" of pictures of us from the year we'd shared to the background music of Ben Fold's "The Luckiest." I guess it was kind of cheesy, but it was perfect. I cried buckets while I made it because it was so sweet, and it made him tear up too, so I guess it was successful. We cuddled and remembered all the wackiness and love from the year.. it was loveier than I can express.

It had pictures like him working on our house, pictures from the wedding, the Bahamas and other silly randomness, plus pictures from our families. I did good, I think:)

OKAY enough with the sappiness, let's get down to presents!!!

So Jared already gave me our anniversary present a while back - he got a chocolate fountain becuase we'd had one at our wedding instead of cake. That's sweet, in a few ways, I think:)

SO I gave him.... a XBox Simpsons game. Which meant..... yes, he was finally allowed to buy himself an XBox. He wouldn't have been as excited had I bought him the XBox itself, becuase he looooves to shop and get the best deal on stuff. It's his form of hunter-gatherer I think. And yo, he found himself one on Craig'sList for $100, plus 3 games! He's a good caveman, he is:) And then he also got me 2 dancepads and a DDR game so I can get my excercize on, XBox style. Everybody wins!!

I've honestly never seen him so excited about a present, it almost worries me because how do I top that?? I can't! SO next year, I need some serious help, people.

Other gift funniness that occured in Walsmart:

Jared gave me a big chocolte heart that sad "Be My Valentine" and told me - "by 'valentine' - I mean wife." He's so freaking funny!

He found one pf those crazy light things - you know, the kind that looks like electricity is surging and when you tough it it looks like the electricity is going inside you? Wish I knew what it was called... well, anyway, these things were on sale for $1.25 - he was so excited I thought he'd wet himself. He bought 4 and kept saying "This is the best dollar we've ever spent!!!!"

I'm soooo amused by this guy:)

Yesterday morning, a group of youth from church and the leaders (that be me) hiked Stone Mountain in the dark to see the sunrise. Someone asked me - "why did you get married so quickly?" and I thought about it...

It just made sense. I fell in love - he fell in love - and it was different than it had ever been before. I felt safe, I trusted him, and not only did I want to spend the rest of my life with him, I knew I was supposed to. Some people like to take their time and postpone the obvious, but it just made sense to start our journey together when we knew. It didn't make sense to make any plans without the other person in them anymore. So I took his name and we started our family together. Everyone is different, they have different aths and schedules. Ours just clicked when it did, we were ready and we've been very, very blessed becuase we did what we knew were supposed to do.

Sorry this entry is so much, but hey - I've been a married woman for a year now! I think a little is in order:)

SUPERCRACK says happy anniversary me! (and husband;)


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel