border

St Pats recap

March 21, 2006 at 7:56 a.m.

So St. Pats was a freaking whirlwind - 4 gigs in 2 days. That's what you get when you are in a celtic band I guess. The gigs were crazy - Friady they were huge and drunken and fun, Saturday it was less huge and mostly drunken as some establishments tried to earn a little extra cash by extending the green beer-a-thon and pretended it was still reason to part-ay.

The only thing that does get me a little about all the drunkeness is all the crazy drunk men who come up to me and HAVE to tell me that I'm the greatest thing they've ever seen and I HAVE to play another song or they'll DIE. Sober people are much less grabby about it. But oh, the poor drunk guys are all in denial about my wedding ring and HAVE to hear me play Free Bird or they won't go home. An NO, we don't play Free Bird. Unless we find a Celtic version, which I hope we never do.

One aweeesome thing we did was all Anna's idea - she's the bass player. A few weeks ago at Mardi Gras, she saw a band play Sweet Child Of Mine - but before the played, they passed out kazoos to the audience so they could hum along, so Anna thinks - why not with our band? We're super awesome!

So she bought a whole bunch of green kazoos and we trhew them out just before we played out patented (okay, maybe not, but it was our idear) medley of Scotland the Brave and Dixie.

I live in Georgia. These people go RETARDED for Dixie. At any gig we play, they just flip out, it's hysterical. Now you all know I had a problem with this tune when I moved here. I'm from up north, where to us it's stands for slavery and the aspects of the south that made us whoop up on them. So the first time we played it, I didn't want to do it - I thought everyone would get mad - but everyone loved it. And my southern friends explained to me that to them, the song stood for pride in their part of the country, growing up southern, which is verrra different from growing up anything else.

So, I set aside my anxieties and have performed it with nary a hitch, even playing it at 2 funerals to much adulation. It confused me, but the people loved it and I went along my merry way, soothed by the contant "it's okay! We love the song, it's our heritage!" from people. Well - there was nary a hitch until Saturday ngiht.

We played a show at Underground Atlanta which is an underground mall/open air tourist trap type place in the heart of Atlanta. And the clientele is mostly African-American. Of course if you're a celtic band crazy drunk white people come find you in droves so that was most of our audience. But it was still a mix o' people.

So we start handing out kazoos and the crowd gets all excited and we play Scotland the Brave and then after we played it a few times, I went right on into Dixie as usual. The band followed, but the mandolin played turned to me as I played away and yelled "Do you want to get SHOT?!?!"

I looked out and the crowd had thinned, mostly I think we scared off the white people who were thinking the same thing - geez, everyone told me they were okay about this in the south, I didn't know! "I'm from Denver!" I yelled back to him. "Obviously!!" he yelled back.

We took a quick break and the whole band looked at me like I was out of my mind. "I didn't like this song!" I said. "I thought it was offensive, but everyone told me it was okay becuase it was a symbol in pride of the south and not all that bad stuff!"

To be fair, everyone felt bad for not warning me but they did tell me that the song meant one thing or the other, depending on the color of person you talked to. Then at that moment, Jared came up and asked me if I was insane.

I can plead insanity, right? But I didn't get shot, that's a plus.

&^%%$%##@@#@$#@&%$#&^#&^$&^#&^%#&^$&^#

Ahhh, the magic of pregnancy. I'm at 11 weeks now - well, 12 tomorrow, and they say pretty soon I should be feeling better. No more exhausted and sick and ravenously hungry ALL the time. I feel sooo crummy! I couldn't get out of bed yesterday, I just rolled around and groaned for a few hours. I did exercize on the elliptical machine - for 8 minutes. Does that count??

I'm not showing yet, although when I visited Urmi last week, I wore a skirt with horozontal stripes across the middle and my small, but protruding tummy was more obvious. In jeans, you can't tell. And I am quickly running out of jeans options. I bought a bigger pair, but now that's the only pair of pants that fit me well - everything else just looks like I got fat because they pull in all the wrong places. I have one pair from before that fit but they're tight and I don't know how much longer I can fool myself into thinking the zipper won't break out of protest.

But I wonder - is wearing tight jeans bad for the baby? Am I squishing the head? I don't want to squish the head. What if the baby comes out with a squished head and it was my jeans that did it???

You think I'm crazy. But this is a perfectly logical jump for me. Just ask Jared. Poor guy has to contend with my logic daily. If we weren't Mormon, it would send him to drink. I think he compensates by shopping, which I approve of, so it works out.

Oh, and speaking of shopping, guess who both the cuuutest pair of black sequined flats at Ross last week?? Yeah, I thought it was me too. But no, poor bonehead Reva got 2 LEFTY black sequined shoes at Ross. It put me in the foulest mood Sunday, I tell you what. Now I have to hike back to Ross, but I have no girlfriend to go with me. Shopping is much better with a friend, and having Danielle on my home turf for a few days was spectacular.

Now I'm lonely and have 2 left shoes:(

Okay, pregnant lady is hungry again. DANG IT!! I've eaten everything in the house, now I have to go shopping! RRRRRRRRRR.

SUPERCRACK says have a sexy day!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel