border

THE MOST UNBELIEVABLE STORY EVER

August 24, 2002 at 12:57 a.m.

warning:

You are not going to believe this. No kidding.

This story is so amazing I don't even belive it and it happened to me! Just sit back and read this - because when you're done you'll feel a little better about humans, and also then give me a call because... well, you'll understand that I'll reallyreally need it.

I'm in Arizona. I now have a new address. A new zip code, a new phone number... all that stuff you get when you go 15 hours away from your home and anyone that loves you and get a masters degree. Yup.

but getting here...

man, you are NOT going to believe this....

Wednesday morning I hitched up a U-Haul to my parent's Ford Taurus and headed out for a long day of driving, at least 10 to Alberquerque and then hopefully 6 more hours to spend the night in Flagstaff with a cousin.

But I didn't make it that far.

A few hours into New Mexico, in the most desolate place imaginable, I glanced into my rear view mirror and saw smoke billowing from the side of my car.

The FIRST miracle of the day was that there was a rest stop 2 miles ahead, so I clawed into it before stopping and watched my car be consumed in smoke.

I stood there in horror as a few passers by confirmed my worst fears: I was 40 miles away from the next town, there was no cell phone service and there were no pay phones until the next town.

The next bit was a blur - people came by at this remote rest area and looked at the car and each had different diagnosis, but the common theme was that I was stuck. Fluids were coming out from every part of the engine and transmission, the steam was so bad I couldn't see most of the car.

I just cried hysterically. Alone, in the middle of nowhere. I looked at the highway below and desperately wanted to just jump. All I could think of was dying - I was so scared I couldn't stop crying.

A nice older man came by and gave me a Gideon Bible and a $20 bill and a handshake.

The next miracle of the day came in the form of a man from the area with a cell phone that worked. I called AAA and was told a tow truck would be there in 2 hours.

What was I supposed to do?? The next town - 40 miles away - Las Vegas, NM would maybe have a motel to sleep in, but I would be stranded. I can't rent a car because I'm too young - you have to be 25, or for some places you can be 21 or over but you have to have a credit card in your name and pay huge proces.. and there's no rental car places in that town anyway!

One man came by and asked me where I was going. Through my tears I told him I have to get to Mesa Arizona because I had to take a test on Friday for my masters degree.

His wife was sweet, she stood next to me and rubbed my shoulder and told me anecdotes about her experiences with cars.

After a while of looking at my car, they looked at each other and then asked me if I wanted a ride.

I couldn't say yes of course - I couldn't leave my trailer with all my equipment and violins and...

They told me they had a trailer hitch and they'd take it along. They were on their way home from a family road trip with their 3 sons and they wanted some company.

.............!

I didn't know what to say - it was crazy - it was stupid - I had no choice... Believe me, I prayed about it - and the yes I heard was the only thing I could hear in my hysterical mind.

In the blistering heat, the dad and his sons repacked my trailer and spliced the wires so the blinkers would work...

I sat in their van crying for the first few miles, astounded at what I had just done, but speechless about what they had just offered. I was zooming towards Mesa with a family I had just met and my car was speedily fading into the distance...

are you taking all of this in?? Oh my heck!!!

That night we stopped in a Comfort Inn 30 mintes past Flagstaff around midnight. They got a hotel room that could fit all of us, but after all I'd been through, I just needed some silence... some alone time. Their van was this fabulous thing with a queen sizr ben in the back, so they let me crash there.

I woke up the next morning and looked around.. it wasn't a dream - the previous day had actually happened...

Then the man and woman knocked on the van door and wished me a good morning - they were going on a walk and the boys were still asleep - so I should run up to their room and take a shower and clean up.

Man, was that the best shower I ever had..

We headed to Mesa and got there sometime in the afternoon. They unhooked my trailer and I bade them farewell.

People, there are so many bad people in the world - but there a few special ones. WOW. What a way to learn that lesson.

I unpacked the trailer alll by myself and even got a ride to school this morning and took my darn tests.

It finally hit me as I finished up my third test.... I started crying, not because of how hard this has really all been...

The campus is so big and I feel so out of place... I feel so alone here, I'm so tired and I'm so scared..

that's all I can say for right now. I'm wiped. Come visit me. I'm so lonely.

I did meet Eden. though!!! She took me grocery shopping last night and chatted with me for hours so I didn't feel so odd and out-of-place. I know my violin teacher AND eden!

SUPERCRACK say here's to looking for silver linings:)

ps someone come visit me. I need a familiar face. what the the heck have I done??!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel