border

leaving for cheelay!!

July 25, 2003 at 12:41 a.m.

Do you know how hard it is to pack ski equipment while sweating in 117 degree heat??

In a few hours, I'm leaving for South America. Santiago, Chile to be exact. I'm going to spend about 9 days there, with my dear brother Dallin who I haven't seen for 2 years, visiting the people he has taught as a missionary for the LDS church, SKIING in the ANDES mountains, and trying to find a pommegranete.

All in a days work for the world 'o Reva, I suppose.

The jet lag from Australia has been murder. I don't wake up until noon and I can't get to bed at night. And tomorrow I have to leave for Atlanta at like, 6am. So I'm not going to bed. erf.

Last night I went to the Mercury cafe for open mic for the first time in a gazzillion years. Hurts without MatMunch around.... he's my biggest fan I know, and he's just left for Ranger School in the US Army and I'm so worried for him, and then BAM, he's in Korea... *ulp*...

Anywho, it was Annie's first public performance as she just learned how to play the geetar last semester in Me-he-co, and I also was requested to go and show off some of the songs we've written together. Some good ones too, and almost all of them written about the time she was smooching MatMunch who is one of my best friends so you'd think it would be weird singing a song about him as a "spoiled boy", but I'm okay, cuz they sound dang good:)

I had a blast. I needed it, too. I need to be out there, singing my music, so I can get better and then get a record deal and be able to play it for lots a people. (by the way, if you want to hear my first baby-steps attemp at recording some of my musak, check out reva music. I swear I'll get better at this!)

I also got to see a friend of mine from high school, this guy named Adam who, as I remember him from HS was a li'l 5'2" kid, and is now in the special forces of the US Army and is 5'9"... unbelieveable!

Ooooo, and by the way - SEE PIRATES OF THE CARRIBEAN!!!! Being a nice li'l ex-Disney employee, it gave me that feeling you can only get in Disneyland... ahhh.. I loved how little parts of the ride were slipped into the movie... YAY it was a great movie!!!

Anywho, since I'm not going to sleep tonight and something wacky in me is making me want to go all psycho and start searching for ex-people in my life on the internet just to see how they are are doing...

so I'll just keep typing instead:)

Mom read me an interesting study today in Science News about self-esteem that I found quite interesting.

Remember how our mom always told us that those mean bullies that would beat us up just had low self-esteem and they were just trying to feel important? Turns out, they actually had a pretty decent self-esteem, as well as the kids that stand up to them.

Also, saith the article, a high self-esteem is not necessary for good job performance, but academic or job success leads to a higher self-esteem. And people who have a high self-esteem aren't more likely to have better relationships, hold leadership positions, or even void bouts of depression.

Eeeenteresting. Do I mention this because I have a low self-esteem and I'm trying to validate myself? Not really. I have a healthy sense of good in me because I know where I came from, and where I hope to be someday. And I know that I have purpose and meaning. So that helps you have a healthy esteem of yourself.

But the ocassional bout of depression? I know about those. It's interesting that even though I have a healthy self-esteem, I still can get sad. Very sad. I live to find the happy, but sometimes something in me can't get up and smile.

It's just interesting, that's all.

Ever been on the computer for so long that your mouse is sweaty? I think it's time for Reva to scoot and find something else to poccupy her time. Maybe I'll just give in and take a nap...

SUPERCRACK will be in Santiago Chile tomorrow! 9 HOUR PLANE RIDE!!!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel