border

CA update

2001-08-19 at 2:37 a.m.

I'm just going to name and place drop all over today. Have your brooms handy.

After an amazing weekend in Oakland - figuring out all my fancy electric violin doodads, I went down to Anaheim to practice for my orchestra auditions (I'm goona bomb 'em anyway, I say SCREW EM) and just happened to get to go see my Buffi play rock cello with Lili Hayden at the Viper Room in Los Angeles.

Did I mention Helen Hunt and Kieffer Sutherland (the jury is still out on him... but 3 people SWEAR it was him) were there. Can you believe that??? She got discovered by Lili, the lead singer/violinist of this awesome band last week and she begged her to join 'em the next week at the Viper Room and I just happened to have a loving brother who drove me up to UCLA and DUDE! I was on THE LIST at the Viper Room! I am so seriously cool....

I got to check out Buffi's new digs - her apartment is seriously a great find - and then spent the night with Michelle and Buffi up there (they were staying on the UCLA campus for Mancini) and then back down for some more practicing...

And then Rhys made the trek again to take me out to dinner with his wife and another couple to The Stinking Rose in LA. the inscription above the door read: WE SEASON OUR GARLIC WITH FOOD. Smelly place, but the food was great.

AND THEN... we got to go dancing at the Beverly Hills Civic Center where the Mancini big band and the New York Voices were performing and got to swing dance with my brother and Buffi (well, she watched) and Michelle and Josh and I also met a very interesting bunch of people... I had a discussion about underwear with a British chap. Ah...

We had desert in Westwood at Jerry's Famous Deli and I got to bid adieu to Buffi... I don't know what I'll do now that she's gone to LA and I'm stuck in Texas for another year. Whoopee. but it was oh-so-nice and all Reva can think is WHAT A COOL LIFE I HAVE! It may not seem so exotic, but man it drives me WILD.

And tonight I did a crazy thing...

Mat and Annie and I went for a stroll down Pearl street in Boulder for dinner and a look at the street performers...

Dude, there was this guy standing there with his guitar and a big sign of all the songs he could perform, singing the Sloppy Joe song... and then he also did the Cookie Monster song AND Rainbow Connection in the appropriate Muppets voices! I think he's either my long lost twin or my soul mate. He sang a song a he wrote about his dating mishaps too!!

So, with an idea non-chalantly mentioned by Annie, I dropped my number into his guitar case. I mean, c'mon! He was checking me out, I'm sure! ANd if not and he has a girlfriend or something, I just gave him a severe ego boost. Something I rarely bestow:)

I cannot believe I did that...

Maybe being single for a while makes you this crazy. Nah, I blame it on genetics.

So that's the update. I leave for Texas on Wednesday but there's more to it to that.. and I also have to mention my grandfather's marriage advice... but that's for another day:)

SUPERCRACK is juuuuuuuuuust GREAT!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel