border

canned boy memories

September 18, 2001 at 11:55 p.m.

So there I am standing in front of the canned soups at Kroger this evening with my roomate, and I suddenly remember aloud that I can't eat Zesty Gumbo by Healthy Choice anymore because of an ex-boyfriend.

It's nothing big, it all happened years ago, but every night after he dropped me off at my house, I'd heat up some Zesty Gumbo and 2 soft Bake cookies then sit in bed and wait for him to call and tell me he was home safe and that he thought I was the dreamiest girl in the whole wide world. I gained a lot of weight that summer..:)

But more importantly, I'd never been in "love" before and I was so starry-eyed, EVERYTHING meant something. And the smells still take me back to a place so icky sweet I want to find myself a toothbrush and brush my teeth.

It's been a rather long time since anyone whispered a sweet nothing my way. And I like it that way. I didn't like the anxiousness of emotion, the disappointment, and I've never been too fond of having my heart broken.

But remebering those few times... I'd just rather not. There are few cures for the knowledge that all but one of your ex-boyfriends married the next girl that came along after you.

Someone please explain to me why that irks me... I still don't have a reason.

The memories though... they still make me sick inside.

But I didn't tell my roomate any of this. All I said was "ooo... Zesty Gumo.. can't eat that anymore. Ex-boyfriend stuff."

She looked atme in near-disgust."WOuld you let go of everything already?? Why do you let boys do any of this to you? Just forget it."

I'm still in shock. I swear this is normal behavior for an almost-woman with my dating credentials. How could another female not understand these issues?

Women. Sheesh.

supercrack is around again, but a little timid....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel