border

infested... with looooove and bugs

August 05, 2005 at 8:05 a.m.

Two interesting things. Maybe.

Remember how adults used to talk to each other and it bored the heck out of you because all you wanted to talk about were tonka trucks so you ran circles around your mom and her best friend as they talked about the deck and how incredibly interesting the new sander was working on refinishing the wood and blah blah blah?

So I think I'm really, really interested in boring adult stuff. DANG IT. Jared and I went to Lowes and Home Depot last night and were looking for things we need and the 1/4 inch drywall for refinishing the master bathroom and a new belt sander to refinish the kitchen cabinents got us both all excited.

Geez, even I think his entry is boring. Why the freak am I turning into an adult???

But here's the interesting things that may not be so dull. At least to me, anyway.

First, I think the house has fleas.

Yup, the prevous owners had dogs and now I'm complaining that I keep getting bitten dagnabit and Jared casually mentions "oh yeah, I killed a flea today." He should know - poor guy actually has had fleas before. Honestly, any weird thing you can come up with, he probably has a good story about it.

So now I'm freaking out and everytime my scalp has he slightest itch, I call him screaming that I have fleas. Which I don't because I know that hurts WAYY bad and but I'm really paranoid right now. I got bug bombs and this weekend while I'm out of town (band has a gig in Viginia) Jared is gonna fry the suckers. We're replacng the carpets anyway next week, but we want 'em dead and even more dead so their hosts will haunt other fleas and tell them not to come anywhere near the HOUSE OF DEATH.

HOUSE OF DEATH has a nice ring to it. Maybe I'll have that painted on our mailbox...

Okay, second interesting thing. Jared's mom came over and ofered to be my slave for a few hours, so we painted up the bedroom. We have so far decided to paint everything white - I can't help it, I love white rooms! Bright red couches and such will of course be added, but I loove the open feel of all the white walls.

But that's not the interesting thing - the interesting thing is that she's been feeling under the weather for the last few weeks and Jared insists she has mono and today I woke up feeling sick.

Crap. I might have mono. Although probably not, but waking up and having that "uh oh - am I getting sick?" feeling on the day that you are going out of town for a gig/mini vacation is so freaking annoying.

And now I'm about to go into why I'm all excited about a new belt sander so I think Ill stop this line of thought before one of you dies of boredom.

&^%$^&^%$@$#@%$#@%$!%$#!%$@^%$@$#@$#@^%#$^@#^%@

So I ran into 2 of my old students yesterday - of course, as I am finally getting out of the house to breathe and look like a crazy woman - no make-up and that insane "where is all the latex flat wall paint??" look in my eyes.

It feels weird, I'm going though a whole bung of emotions where I'm SOOOOO glad to not be going back to teach this year, but at the same time a little sad that it's going on like I didn't exist. Hey, that's not a bad thing - the program deserves to go ahead and rock but I did give it my all last year, and there's a pang wondering if anyone will miss me.

I need to quit that FAST. I know that the reason that I came the Georgia was to meet my fabulous husband - and teaching high school was just the tool The Guy Upstairs used to get me here, which was why I felt good in quitting in the first place because I'd served my purpose.

Still, I wish they'd miss me. Some of them do, and some of them are probably overjoyed that I'm gone. I feel odd. I also have to go by the school this morning and drop off my keys for the new teacher. Lots of emotions going on there, whew!

The funny thing is, I'm so stupidly happy to be teaching my private students (I'm getting so many right now!!) and fixing up this house with my wonderful husband that I'm far more happy than I ever was teaching in the public school system. Maybe because deep down, I'm the most boring woman alive?

OOo!! Which reminds me of one more thing - to Reader, who left the note in my guestbook about how I should audition for the Atlanta Symphony? I did follow the link and it was tempting for a brieeef second - but it shall never happen, and this is why:

Top Three Reasons Why Reva Shall never Be in A Major Symphony Orchestra Even Though Yes, She Does Have A Master's Degree in Violin Performance:

1. Unfortunately, there are very few jobs open for the thousnds of qualified musicians looking for a symphony gig. Orchestras all over the country and globe are going out of business at an alarming rate for one open position, hundreds of hopefuls try for the spot. And once someone is in - they are IN - I know guys in the Atlanta Symphony who ahve been in it for over 40 years! It's really sad - there are so many talented musicians that can't get a break because you have to be PERFECT in an audition to be considered over the other applicants, and DANG it there are some incredible people out there. I am not one of them. This is because:

2. I never considered/wanted a job in an orchestra because I'm not suited for it. The audition process is way too much for me and I'd never pull if off. My playing is the kind that draws in a listener becuase of feeling and fun, not stark technical precision. That's boring, but that's what they want. And if I had wanted an orchestra position, I would have had to spend every sumer at music institutes, in festival orchestras, getting prepared for the big leagues. Instead, I spent every summer at jazz and fiddle camps, learning all the stuff I atually liked playing but couldn't the rest of the year becuase I had to study classical to get the degrees. I'm just not good enough at the classical stuff because my heart isn't in it.

3. And also, if I was in an orchestra, I would be sitting next to 20 other violinists playng the same exact stuff as me. I get bored - I'd want to stand up and shout "Let's all do something different!! I'll take a solo and you guys vamp over B-flat!"

Le sigh, all that money I spent on school and I'll never be one of those symphony players. but I like my lot -as Marcy would tell you, I get way too distrated in rehearsals and I start poking my stand partners so it's best I not join the symphony, for their sakes:)

And with that, I'm off to play with some paint. And then with my band. And miss Jared all weekend :( I think I'll have cookies for breakfast.

SUPERCRACK says being an adult ain't all that bad:)


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel