border

Apparently I'm a Yankee.

August 08, 2005 at 11:32 a.m.

So the band drove up to Virginia to play the Virginia highlands festival this weekend. learned some interesting things - bombed one set and killleeeddd on the others. Killed in the good way, bombed in the bad way.

Learbed one thing though - they take the Civil War SERIOUSLY. I almost started it again, unfortunately.

See, I just found out about this whole reenactment thing they do in the south and Good Gravy it amuses me to no end! here's my thought -

If you are trying to remember the people that died for our country, isn't it better to memorialize WHAT they fought for than by dressing up in hoop skirts and knee pants and actually pretending to kill each other??? Really???

It's so freaking funny, but apparently when you are sitting in a diner called Chick-N-something-or-other and there are medals and pictures of battles on the wall of the Great War Between The States, you are not supposed to laugh really hard and ask why the heck anyone would do something so silly when there is probably something terribly interesting on TV.

I thought the waitress was going to kill me. My friends with me were Southerners through and through and quickly whispered somethings about what NOT to do when in the south because those crazy guys in the Civil war get-ups also have guns and are not known for being to terribly even-keeled and if I do indeed mock them - they're just looking for reasons to shoot those muskets.

*gulp*

The best part was when the wait chick looked at me like I was a big and asked "You from California, ain'tcha?"

And then Anna told me it probably wouldn't be a good idea to stand up and sing "We Shall Overcome" either. Gotta log these things in the brain, y'know? I've been in Atlanta a whole year now, but I am told that is still Yankee territory. Geez, are we this territorial in the west? I'm just a good ol' American. Kind of.

America is scary, yo.

And one of the guys from another one of the bands performing came up to me after our last set and said

"You know, I just had to tell you - our whole band thinks you're so beautiful - just amazing. I just had to tell you."

*in my brain* -check out the left hand,
buddy - your flirting schemes have no effect on me!-

me, out loud: "oh, thank you!"

and then he says - "oh, and you're also a good fiddler."

*in my brain* - uh - AND I'm a good fiddler??? it's good I have my looks to fall back on, huh??? Piece of jerk!! BEST FIDDLER EVER, DAGNABIT!!!!!!!!

me, out loud = "..... oh.. thanks."

I almost kicked him. It's the violinist in me. The fiddler in me almost poked him in the eye with my bow. heh. Those things come in handy every now and then.

&*^%&^$^%#%$@^%@%$#&^#&^#&^%#&^$&^$&^#&^#%

Ooo! Some guys from Jump Little Children came to see our first set! Luckily the left while I was still looking hott and before I looked like a moron because I got lost during the end of my killer solo.

And we shall never speak of that tankage again. Thanks for leaving, guys!!

^%$&^%$&#$%&$@%@@^@^$@&%$@&%$!%@&%$@&$@#$#


So, I'm of to attempt to paint the cabinents in the kitchen. While I was gone, Jared redid the drywall in the bathroom and bug bombed the house - almost killing himself in the process, but he is alive and able to tell the story of nearly ending up like all those dead fleas I'm about to vacuum up, thanks to the previous occupant's doggies.

Why DO people have pets? all the bugs and the slober and it's all about their needs, not mine. but man- it must be awesome being a dog. It would be great to be amused at such dumb stuff, like tugging on a sock or smelling crotches.

...um... jsut grossed myself out. I'm glad I'm a human. That is all.

SUPERCRACK is off to paint!


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel