border

fishin' for drama but coming up happy

November 07, 2005 at 7:40 a.m.

Hellloooo Monday morning! And what a weekend it was! I'm getting on the ball NOW before this week gets too crazy and I forget to make an entry.

So, howdy!

Let me begin with how happy I am that I have friends with drama in their lives. Because the husband is really good at filtering out all the drama, and let's face it - drama stinks but it makes for good conversation. I call up my single friends for what they're up to - hey, I'm not boring - I had a show this weekend and a date with my husband and raking the yard for a whole freaking hour and I got blisters - okay, maybe my life IS boring. But luckily, Elizabeth's isn't! She's got the guy drama of boy-likes-girl, girl-is-feeling-pressure-to-like-boy-so-she-doesn't, then-girl-DOES-like-boy, boy-starts-dating-other-girl, and now apparently it's boy-likes-girl again? We think?

Hey it's way more interesting than raking the leaves:)

And Annie getting married in a few days - that's awesome too!! I'm just so happy I get to be there! Her guy is so very, very lucky to be getting her, and luckily, he REALLY knows it now, so I couldn't be happier for the two of them:)

And Danielle has a little drama of her own, so I'm bugging her to move to Atlanta for a while. Musicians stick together, right? Annie almost moved here, but ended up staying in Denver for the better and I'm pleased as punch about it - she's marrying the right person for the job and it's too too awesome, but part of me is still dying to have one of my girly friends close by.

I mean, Jessica is hard at school in Urah, too much to do there to even think of moving near me, Urmi went ahead and got hitched the week after me so she's out of commission (although the double dates we could have... woohoo!), and now Annie is gonna be settled and stuff. Dani is my last hope. And hope away I shall!

&^%^$^%$^&$*^%$*^%$*%%$*&%%*&^%*&$*&^%*&^%

So I'm at a gig Saturday night and we're playing my song. Literally. I wrote it while I was at ASU - miserable and sick of the classical-centric atmosphere there. So I sat in my practice room (that I probably had to wait and hour for, grrrr they didn't have enough for the number of students there!!) and I played my heart out - not my Wienawski or Bach, but I fiddled and I wrote this tune. And every time I got overwhelmed or sick of it all, I played my tune and felt a little better.

So I played it for the band a few weeks ago and they made it just sound even tastier what with all their cool musician-ness and we recorded it for the CD. I was so happy I could have just exploded right there!

So Saturday evening we were playing it at our gig and I was just having one of those moments - looking around at my bandmates, and in loving awe of how somehow, I got to this place with these amazing people. I couldn't figure out how I'd gotten so lucky.

On the ride home, I was talking with Anna about the lesson I was teaching the next day in church, about change and how God helps us by giving us changes, both positive and otherwise, to help us grow. Anna mentioned that she'd had that moment too during my song - she noticed how happy I looked and thought about how that sad girl in the practice room a few years ago was now so happy, and the song she'd written for herself was now being shared with many.

I honestly thought the move to Atlanta was all about me meeting Jared - which was incredibly important, I must say - but now I realize that yum, getting the change to make the music I love... the Guy Upstairs really, really loves me.

Of course if I went back a few years in this diary I might not have been thinking that at the time ;) Glad to know I was wrong!

&%^&$^&$&^#&^#^@$^@!^%$#&^#^$*$*&$&%

Ooo, and in other news, my sister in law has been in labor for the last few days! They're having a home birth so they're calmly hanging out in the apartment, waiting for the lil' guy to show up.

I've been very explicit to them and any one else I talk to to please NOT tell me any details. If I find out any, it'll make it that much harder for me to convince myself to do it someday. Even Jared has banned me from reading What to Expect When You're Expecting. Even though I'm verrra curious about it.

Some things are better left unsaid, eh?

SUPERCRACK is allmooost an aunt!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel