border

public jiggie

June 18, 2005 at 3:24 p.m.

Funny, funny weekend so far.

Spent Friday with Jared's grandpa at the hospital. 93 years old, he suddenly took a weird turn last Sunday and has a whole bunch of ailments and dementia. It's all kind of overwhelming for the family, seeing as he's kind of beligerent - I men, he's spent oodles of years being in charge of himself, a family his choices, and now even though he can't figure out where he is, he is still an adult in his mind, and he can't figure out why people are making him do stuff he doesn't want to do, like have a catheter ("They put a spike up my $#%@!!") and other such loveliness that we begged him not to show us.

Honestly, I think Jared and I are going to be struck down with all sorts of horrible things when we get old for how much of a laugh we had at poor grandpa's sake. All the yellow school busses he saw whipping around the room and telling him ever 3 minutes he couldn't go upstair and change his clothes - the only thing to keep our sanity was giggle.

We are SO getting dementia at 42.

We took Jared's parents out for Father's Day and such and had a loverly time. I think they really needed the change of pace. Afterwards, Jared just HAD to go to the thrift store down the ways a bit. It's this nice place run by all volunteers and they use all the profits to send bibles to Africa.

It's always nice to see people using their free time to do something nice.

So rewind a tad - at some point in the day, Jared told me we needed to sit down and figure out a budget, what with me quitting my job, the impending buying of a home and all that jazz. Things might get a little tight in the future, it seems. No problem.

Except then we go into the thrift store and Jared gets the brilliant idea that he MUST have this 100-CD changer for $20, even though we don't have a PA or anything to plug it into. It was pretty funny - he had this adorable pouty face on and I almost caved, except that he'd just told me that things were gonna be tight, so I figured this was a unnecessary sumpin' sumpin.

So I tried to convince him with guilt since he was using those dang adorable puppy eyes and told him we couldn't get it because I quit my job and now we have no money and it's allllll my fault and actually made HIM apologize at some point for not even doing anything (my mom gave me reallllyyy good guilt lessons back in the day;) and anywho, long story short, he helped me up and in an effort to get me to stop fake-crying, jiggled one of my boobs ..... !

Yup, something he does at home that is amusing at home to end arguments, he did right there in the middle of the bible-giving thirift store.

"JARED!" I was watching an amused middle aged man walk next to us who had witnessed this and we both started laughing.

"Just because it makes YOU feel better to grope me doesn't mean it makes ME feel better!" And with that, we ran out of the store. (except it does make me feel better) (don't tell him I said that, I'm supposed to be shocked)

Oh, the joy of random public-boob-jiggles. And crazy grandpas. I hear he was actually kind of sane for most of his life. He like me though, so that's good:)

SUPERCRACK is super amused:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel