border

dashin' mushy

March 11, 2008 at 8:11 p.m.

How is this for surreal... I have a friend who works in a violin shop and told me that a family came in that had just moved to the area and were asking about me, because apparently they'd heard rave reviews about my teaching from their previous teacher back in their old town. And then they just sat around talking about how awesome I am... dang, I wish I'd been there:)

Well, how nice, my fame is spreading! But the weird part is, their old teacher is someone from my past who hates my guts. And who used to say lots of unflattering things about my skills (which she had every right to, since I kind of stink at most things).

It's just a "huh" moment. And it makes me hold my little girl and my husband close and say a prayer of thanks for my life right now. When I think of how my life used to be, how it could have been and all the incredible strange things God manuvered to bring me here, I want to cry for joy.

I mean, I was pushed into a corner 4 years ago and the only option available to me was teaching public school across the country?? And despite how insanely bad I was at it, I met my sweetie the day I moved here, joined my band a few months later and the rest is history.

I'm just glad despite all my stupid decisions, my Heavenly Father never gave up on me.

Hey, do me a favor - when I start getting all gloomy and crazy, remind me of that, okay? Thanks web:)

&^%^%$^$*&%*&%$&*^%&^$^&^%$^%^%

There's something about Dashboard Confessional that melts me. The lyrics, the chords, the musicality of it all equals to a mushy me when I hear Jared listening to a Dashboard album in the next room.

I frequently take Solei in my arms and dance with her to Stolen in the kitchen. I sing in her ear, she wraps her little arms up around my neck and snuggles up to my chest, and I close me eyes and dissolve into a puddle on the floor. DANG that man can write a song.

Every so often I wish Jared would write me love songs like that. He plays the guitar and loves me, so that should equal into him being my personal minstrel, n'est pas?

But yesterday as I slowly spun around the kitchen floor with Solei - I thought about it. No, I don't get love songs.

But what about that time I was so exhausted after watching our newborn, that he surprised me with a jacuzzi filled with lavender water, floating candles, relaxing music AND a bowl of ice cream?

Or how he makes sure to tell me - via every way possible (text, IM, phone, in person, loooooong hugs) that he loves me, several times a day?

Or the way he never complains when I head out for gigs and rehearsals and leave him on mommy duty?

Or how he puts Solei to bed EVERY NIGHT so I can relax?

Or how he holds me every night as he drifts off to sleep, even though I know he'd much rather be sleeping on the floor (he hates our mattress - I love it).

Or how I had such a rough day on Sunday, and he wriggled things around so we could be alone and he held me as I bawled my head off.

Or how he doesn't coddle me. Man, I wish he would - but he's amazing at knowing when I need a hug or a shove in the right direction (and then a hug afterwards:).

Or how he kisses me every morning and every evening when he comes home from work, and after we pray (I get lots of smooching).

Or how he washes Solei's hair because he knows it drives me crazy?

Or how he still thinks I'm hot ... and lets me know it.

Or how he is the most cocky self-assured person I know and it never ceases to make me laugh at him for it.

So as I danced with my little girl in the kitchen, I knew this is better than a love song.

(Except I'd still like a surprise party. But I'm patient:)

Hey, I know it's SUPER mushy, but you would be too if you had listened to as much Dashboard as I had too. Maybe y'all should!

SUPERCRACKalackin!




rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel