border

my faith

December 10, 2007 at 12:24 p.m.

I'm just gonna vent here. It's my own fault, I'm too curious. I watched the Romney speech on faith last week, and I wanted to know what others thought of it. So I listened to some radio, read some articles and blogs.

Mostly, the covereage has been nice. It's not that I'm sold on who I want to vote for yet, but I'm sensitive to the negativity focused not on his policies or past, but because of his religion. This country is not as tolerant as it strives to appear, but many groups are aware of this fact as well as my fellow members of the LDS faith.

He spoke from the heart, and I agreed with him. I hoped others would hear his argument that he was an American running to be the president for Americans, not just a Mormon running for other people of his faith.

And commentators, positive and negative, all recognized that fact and focused on the race.

But gah, my fault was with wondering what other people thought, and reading the comments readers had on the speech.

Bah. Stupid idea. There was very little intropsective on the speech, and more reasons why people would never vote for a Mormon. Which was the exact opposite point of his speech.

Comments like.. I lived in Utah for 2 years and the people were horible to me!!

Yes, then obviously Mitt Romney and all Mormons are to blame. With that logic, I would hate all short people because I knew a mean short person once.

Their religion is horrible - women are subservient and men have all the power.

In other Christian religions, only paid clergy gets the opportunity to have the priesthood. We believe every male that lives his life worthily can have it, and I as a woman do not in any way feel subservient or lesser. Honestly, the priesthood is something I am so thankful my husband, father, brothers, uncles and a friends have, but I don't need it. As a woman, I have other needs and responsibilities. Look at the priesthood - really look at it, the duties, the blessings. I'm really thankful my husband has it and has learned so many wonderful lessons and a deeper sense of sevice on compassion because of it. Men need it - and I have never once felt oppressed because they need it and I don't.

Gah - and one caller I heard on a radio program really took the cake. After a Baptist minister and a Rabbi had given their opinions on the speech, a woman called in and said:

"No one is talking about the biggest issue- that Mormons believe that when they die they can become gods!"

silence on the part of the commentator and the religious leaders ... finally the radio host said "So - it doesn't sound to me like you listened to the speech. It sounds like you don't care what he said, and you wouldn't consider voting for a Mormon no matter what he'd say."

..."Um - yeah, that's true."

This is a view I've hear hundreds of times. I'm just too sensitive. It hurts anyone to be discriminated against. But good golly, why would you hate us for doctrine that you don't understand?? How does that hurt you in any way?? I believe that after this life, I will continue learning and growing, and yes, even progressing. I don't beleive this life is it - the only thing out there. I beleive it's a test, another growing experience in a path where I will become better and greater. I won't say I know what God's plan is, but I know he has more in store for me than exists in this place we call life.

Oh - and all the nasty comments about our temples and other things we hold sacred... that really, really hurts. Not secretive. Heck, they let me into the temple:) But it's a place where we can learn and feel closer to our Heavenly Father. It is a special place. But because we strive to keep it sacred - it angers people. Why so closed minded, world? Why do you not respect our place of peace? Sigh... because nothing is kept sacred in this world any longer, and no one understands the importance of it.

I hate to see the negativity. I hate to see people so angry at our church, when we strive so dang hard to do what's right. We try to keep our bodies as healthy as we can by keeping out alcohol, nicotine and other unhealthy things. We try to keep our minds as healthy as we can by limiting the nastiness Hollywood has to offer. Our goal is to be the best we can be for our God and our fellow man.

Yup, what a horrible religion. sarcasm, of course.

It just hurts. I try to understand other religions, other points of view, and show compassion. Luckily, no one I know would be as hurtful as the nameless strangers that I've read blasting the things I find sacred. I just wanted to know what the country thought of Mitt Romney's call for religious tolerance.

And the truth makes me sad for America.

SUPERCRACK.



rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel