border

flight fright

November 20, 2007 at 1:16 p.m.

Remember when I was freaking out about a 3 hour flight with baby? Sunday night I was putting the finishing touches on my packing and I decided to take a final look at my itinerary.

Hmm.. lessee.. flight from Atlanta to Denver, total travel time 5 and half hours. WHAT?? I looked atthe e.ticket in disbelief - I've flown to Denver, I KNOW it's 3 hours. And then I see the little part about a layover in CHICAGO.

I started bawling. Jared, who booked the flight and had not noticed this little tidbit was so sweet and instantly offered to take her on his flight the next day, but I decided to go ahead with it. Enter carry-on bag 2 filled with much more toys.

I was sitting in the airport with her Monday morning, keeping her giggling and running around, when I decided it was time for her to have a bottle. Looked in the diaper bag - the formula is GONE. Don't know where it went - Jared couldn't find it at home so at some point it must have fallen out.

So for a moment I sat there in shock - I have a baby, and no formula ( had snacks, but they are still a novelty to her - girl needs her bottle) and another 6-7 hours without the ability to get any.

People, believe there is a higher power and that prayers are answered. I know they are - because I'd been praying to find solutions to whatever came up that day, and I know Jared had been too. I got a feeling of calm and simple thought pop in my head - find a Starbucks. We've been trying to feed her whole milk the last month, but we've been doing it gradually since she's so dang picky and gassy.

They sold me a cup of warm milk (baby is insanely picky about the temperatue too) and I put it in her sippy cup, praying to high heaven she wouldn't refuse it with the new taste.

Hallelujah!!! She drank it all up, SUPERMOM found the solution!!! The flight attendants on the play gave me some warm milk for her too 3 hours later. I was so relieved.. empowerd even!

Of course she has yet to poo... when she does, it's gonna be a doozie:)

The almost 7 hours on the plane (they kept us on during the layover and it was delayed in Chicago) was okay. Solei slept for an hour, and the rest of the time I sang to her, kept her occupied and handed her toys.

Yes, I deserve a medal. The other kids on the flights were all screaming and no, I can't say I had that much to do with Solei being so dang sweet, but I'm pretty entertaining. I think I'm a good mom - the others were yelling at their kids to hush up, and I made sure to not exasurbate her moments of claustrophopia by being negative, but just getting even happier and more animated for her.

I didn't eat or go to the bathroom for all that time, I just put my efforts into being a laser beam of happy. By the time Annie got us at the airport, I was ready to pass out from hunger and exhaustion. The answer? A huge guacamole bacon burger AND a strawberry lemonade with real strawberries from Good Times. Annie has the best knack of making me feel not only better, but 13 times better than regular better:)

Now I'm home. Jared gets in tonight. My brother (the one that plays violin bette than me) and I have been to both my mom's and dad's schools playing our violins for the kiddos.

I'm so blessed. I have an amazing family to come home to, and I know The Big Guy Upstairs loves me and helps me out of my jams. I'm not the best mom ever, but seeing my daughter run to my mom and love her as much as she loves me - I know He gave me the best daughter for me.

Oops, she squeaking, naptime is over.

SUPERCRACK is back on the clock!



rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel