border

almost a year??

October 04, 2007 at 10:52 a.m.

We are within a week of Solei's first birthday.

I've been a mom for a whole year.

She's been a little citizen of the world for a whole year.

In one year, she's learned how to control her little hands so she can tear pages out of every book of scripture we have in the house. To stuff just about any object she can grasp into her mouth. To clap, to clump, to embrace.

And to walk. She scampers on her toes and waves her hands with joy because she loves the process of moving so much.

She knows who I am, and she knows she is loved. She knows how to laugh, and she knows what she wants. Right now she holding a mirror and talking to herself.

I couldn�t even begin to go through what I�ve learned.

I�ve learned how to massage a constipated baby in a Starbucks bathroom to get the poop out of her so she�ll stop grunting at everyone.

One year ago I had a crazy Brasilian nurse try to get my fat pregnant self to give her a urine sample while she as HOLDING THE CUP. Tuesday, I peed in a cup while holding the cup in one hand, and a squirming baby in the other.

I�ve learned how to change a diaper. On my lap, in a car, on the run (as in, she�s running away from me).

I�ve learned how to get her to eat from a bottle (AMEN!)

I�ve learned how to button her onesies, dodge puke and flying poo, and that bathtime is my favorite time of day.

Oh, I also learned how to love her. That�s the part I�m the most proud of:)

*&^%*&^%&^$^$&^$&^$*&%*%&*^%*&%

So last Saturday night Jared and I got in a massive fight. He said something that just got under my skin, and was totally insensitive. I knew he was feeling sick and tired, and when he gets that way he can say stuff he doesn�t mean. I�m the same way.

But something great about our relationship is that we�re really quick to admit to things and apologize, because hey, it�s nicer to be happy together than in a fight.

Well, I had to run off to a meeting that night and I left ith things unresolved. I just needed him to say �I�m sorry, I�m not feeing well,I didn�t mean it.� And I kept checking my phone all night to see if he had texted me. But no text� he works a lot and so half of our communications are text-based. Nothing.. boy did I give him the cold angries when I got home. Sunday was even worse, I was still mad and he was confused why I was still mad. I was mad he hadn�t apologized yet!

Fast forward to Sunday night- we�d patched things up a bit and we were talking again at least. �I�m still hurt though � you haven�t apologized yet � so you actually meant what you said??� I asked him.

But NO, he insists. He did apologize and sent a text while I was at my meeting, and since I had stayed mad at him, he�d been afraid to apologize again, since apparently it had just made me even more angry.

NOOO saith I, I never got any texts. And I�d had my phone on me ALL night. He went to get my phone as evidence � and there is was, exactly everything I�d needed to hear send the previous night.

We have a new rule when we argue now � we need to check that the other person HEARS us apologize. Lesson learned. I sure do love husband:)

Hmm� baby is making weird grunty noises. Time to get the diaper off.

SUPERCRACK. Not afraid of dirty diapers anymore:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel