border

Packing up

March 08, 2007 at 12:33 p.m.

Have I mentioned how much I HATE packing?????? Apparently it�s even worse when you have a baby that likes to be held, and when she�s not, she likes to scream like a banshee. Was it the Odyssey where the sirens would lure unsuspecting sailors to their island, and then they�d all die horrid deaths? I can�t remember if the sirens turned into gruesome shrieking machines once they got closer, but if they did, then my daughter is a reincarnation of that.

Life is so complicated right now � just closing up shop is always a hassle, but good golly, suddenly there�s an enormous amount of money we have to somehow take out of the country. If we took it physically, it would probably look like one of those suitcases the bad guys have with stacks of bills that they use to buy Russian submarines. And oh, wouldn�t that be fun to take through customs??

Jared thinks he has the problem solved � but it involves insane amounts of hoops because the bureaucracy here is ginormous. If things don�t work out, we might even have to come back just to get it � I�m almost to the point where I�ll send out a random e.mail to someone that says if they�ll just give me their bank account number, we will deposit the money there and they can have some and it is fabulous opportunity! (yeah, I get those e.mails too, but now I�d pity the fools if they were legit because it really IS hard to get your moola across the planet!)

So we fly overnight on Sunday, and after a layover, we�ll be in Atlanta by noon, hopefully. And then after a quick shower, Jared has to go into work�! We have to buy cars, cell phones, possibly sell our house (cross your fingers, we�re working with another offer!!) and find a new one all in the space of a few weeks.

Ulp.

^%$^$^%$&%*&^%^#%#@$#@^%#$&^%$&^%$&^

So random � there�s this girl here I know from church who instant messages me all the time about absolutely nothing and it�s really irritating. The conversations, several a day, involve her telling me she likes me (that�s the extent of her English) and inordinate amounts of emoticons involving glitter-covered puppies.

I hadn�t blocked her because she�s a sweet kid, but yesterday things got weird.

Her new job is as a receptionist in the office of the therapist I saw here, and she spends most of her time on the computer on the Brasilian version of Myspace. Well, yesterday she gave me the therapist�s e.mail address and told me to IM him and it would just be so much FUN and she told him I was going to write him and we�d all have one big party!!

Luckily for me I had to go and teach a violin lesson � but I blocked her today just in case. Why in the world would I want to instant message the man that prescribed me drugs??? Holy crap, that puts the AWWKKKK in AWWKKKKWARD.

^%$^$^%$&%*&^%^#%#@$#@^%#$&^%$&^%$&^


So ready for the randomest of randoms?? In my last entry I gave myself a little space and wrote about 2 people I�d had falling-outs with, and wouldn�t you know it, one of the people I wrote about actually randomly pooped by my blog, wondering how I�d been after the last 3 years and realized the person I was describing was her! It felt so good to get it cleared up, and I learned a lesson. Yes, be careful what you blog. But one in a mazillion times, you might actually get lucky and have something good happen. Yay for blogging! (now if the other person I wrote about ever tried to contact me, I�d probably go screaming for the hills. So the fates tricked the right person into e.stalking me yesterday:)

^%$^$^%$&%*&^%^#%#@$#@^%#$&^%$&^%$&^

So the missionaries informed us last week that they wanted to throw a party for us to say goodbye, and they asked Betiane to invite people. She asked who I wanted and I said, verbatim: �I dunno, good people,� referring to the fact that all the people here are good. Except for one person who I did not mention, but good golly, I need to poke her in the eye.

Remember a few days ago how that one crackhead gossip from church told me I should start putting on makeup and doing my hair? Well, yesterday she starts IMing me and telling me she won�t come to the party because my friend Betiane is doing the inviting, and she doesn�t like her. And I had to pretend that I cared if I saw her or not (why would I want to see someone who likes to gossip and make rifts between people??) when in reality, her not coming would actually be a load off me.

She kept trying to tell me that Betiane had said some negative things about me, but I wouldn�t let her. If I don�t care what people say, why is she trying to create WW3 over what people say about me?? Betiane is the woman who stayed with me non-stop and helped me care for Solei while Jared was in the US and has on numerous occasions been a huge blessing and friend to me, so even if she did say something stupid here and there, her actions say more about her character than her mouth. Heck, I for one know that good people (me) can sometimes say stupid things!

She just kept saying how much she loved me but someday I�d know the truth about Betiane and she�d know why she didn�t like her� when actually, the only person I know who has been saying anything negative to me about anyone is her. And she�s been self-righteously bad mouthing several people to me, including her MIL and SIL � I just don�t trust people who are so quick to talk badly about other people. You never know when they are coming out for you.

I had to go, I was so irritated that she�d tried to drag me into her drama-fest, and I tried to calm down with Jared. But his view on matter such as this is �who cares?� and he ignored my attempts to make him listen to all the things I�d like to say to her, but wouldn�t because she WANTS to talk and get more fuel to gossip about. I really want to hit her in the head with a rock.

The solution? Calling Annie and having a lengthy girl talk on anything but the crazed drama of Brasilian housewives. Husbands are wonderful, wonderful things, but life just isn�t right without some really good girlfriends.

Who, might I add is not only coming to visit me at the end of the month, she�s also bringing her husband along!!! Having an Annie around you is an incredible blessing, but let�s face it, we wimmins get antsy when we�re away from our husbands � and now I get a really freaking happy Annie too!!

I think I�m gong to need a little more girl-talk time in the next few days� leave your phone on vibrate, girl!!

SUPERCRACK hates to pack. And that�s a fact. Jack.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel