border

direction?

February 06, 2007 at 7:16 p.m.

I�m a little shell-shocked today. I hadn�t planned on vomiting my innermost angst quite so fully yesterday, but I couldn�t have foreseen the outpouring of love, advice and well-meaning smacks to the noggin that I received from people from my virtual and literal realities. Thank you, thank you for hearing me. I can�t tell you the peace I feel just from the knowledge that I�m understood somehow, and at the same time, am chastised just enough to help me to not get too attached to my gala-level pity party.

So down at the heart of my present situation, is the fact that I have nothing I want to do with my life anymore. I�ve run to touch the few goalposts I had planned, and now I�m looking at unfamiliar terrain with trepidation and a quickly depleting supply of anti-anxiety medication.

Holy crap, how does someone get to the point where they have reached their life goals at the ripe old age of 27? It�s not that I have low standards, it�s mostly that once I realized my big hopes were probably out of the running (President of the World, The Best/Coolest/Richest Rock Star in the Universe, Oscar-winning actress, Mrs. Rowan Atkinson (yes, I had/have a crush on Mr. Bean), Disney Princess, etc.), I set my sights on collegiate life.

Really, I�m a pretty crummy violinist if you ranked me up there with other players who have master�s degrees, but I didn�t have the goal to be Seriously Awesome Orchestra-Level Girl. I wanted to play so much more � jazz, rock, fiddle, whatever alternative style I could get my ears on. No, I didn�t know what exactly I�d do with my knowledge, but it made me happy and therefore, I did it.

I certainly didn�t do it to get hired teaching high school orchestra. Holy crap, that was one insane year! But out of the midst of it, I got married and found an unlikely outlet � a celtic band that wanted me to play with them.

Had the world on a string I did. I got to perform, friends to play with and make me happy, even a CD and touring!
And then, BAM, pregnant.
BAM, husband laid off.
BAM, new job in Brasil.
BAM, say goodbye to snug dream life, have one viewing of a 20 year old Lamaze DVD and
BAM, I�m screaming out �marido!!� in a Brasilian hospital while going unmedicated through hard labor with 6 nurses and doctors in the room who speak nothing but Portuguese and who won�t allow my husband in the room, no matter how hard I scream for him, in Portuguese, no less.
BAM, he�s back to work and I�m alone at home with a baby.

Very alone.

It�s still hard to breathe, sometimes. How am I supposed to come up with new goals when I can�t get her to stop crying?

One thing I guess I�ve forgotten in this mess is myself. Who I worked hard to be, and who I worked hard to like. Of course it was all conditional on the fact that I had a flat stomach and played in a band� and both of those things are temporarily suspended in my present WHAT THE FREAK situation.

I don�t know what I want to do. I guess I�ll move back to America and teach violin again. I do like it, but it�s stressful at times, and I feel bad for the holes I have in my teaching technique (no vibrato� heck I can barely do it myself!). I really feel uncomfortable with the stay-at-home mom thing��.. not that there�s any job I could do or would want to do all day, but I want to be a contributing member of our household bank account. I like feeling useful, and getting peed on (twice today! it�s like she WAITS for me to open the diaper up!) just doesn�t make me feel useful. I wish it did, but it doesn�t.

Starting a radio station (bad idea, it would be ALL Journey, ALL the time), volunteering, trying to make friends to spend time with when I get home, I feel like a fraud. Like I�m this socialite with the luxury to pick my pet causes and appointments to make the hours of the day go by faster. Aren�t I supposed to put in hours and work??

I don�t want to be some suburbanite with a minivan , in khakis, white and semi-chub (well, I can�t help that white part, but I could try and get a tan). Holy crap, am I going to turn into THIS stereotype??

I don't want those pants. I really don't!! Who do I WANT to be??

The point of all this is it to say thank you. Thanks for really listening, I�ll figure this out eventually.

I pray every day to love her, to love being a mom. And I promise do I play with her, smile at her, sing to her, and nibble her toes until she giggles. I try to be myself, but it can be an act sometimes. She doesn�t notice yet, and I love that about her. It doesn�t matter if I�m smiling or smiling through my tears, she smiles back just the same.

SUPERCRACK will get there. Eventually.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel