border

curses, oh charismatic me

January 21, 2007 at 4:47 p.m.

*bbbbRING!*

It's the intercom attatched to our frong gate ringing on a Saturday afternoon. I let Jared answer it, what with him inderstanding Portuguese and me not.

"Huh?" Jared says into the phone, and asks the caller to repeat themselves. After a second, he looks at me confused and says "They say they're friends of yours?"

I realize who it is and I violently whisper "NO! Tell them I'm not here - I'm... I'm asleep!! Tell them I'm asleep I do NOT want to talk to them!!"

Jared looks at me incredulously and cheerfully announces to the caller that I'll be right out. "I'm not going to lie, you know me better than that!" he tells me as I storm outside.

See, I like to go to the park with Solei. It's just down the street and she absolutely loves seeing the trees and flowers and sunshine. We sit on a swing or on a bench and just stare out over the park, it's lovely.

We're not the only people who frequent this certain park, and a few weeks ago, some cheerful kids came up to me and started talking. Saying "I dn't speak Portuguese" IN Portuguese is not the way to get people to stop talking to you in Portuguese, and once they start, I can usually follow and understand what they are saying and respond, curses.

So I have had a few loverly chats with these neighborhood kids, who are enamoured with the idea that I'm American. The even followed me home one day... oh joy. This started the loverly new game of them ringing my doorbell. Why? I have no idea. So they can stand there all in awe and ask me questions? Apparently.

I can't help it, I'm really loveable, seriously, I'm SO personable and nice, it's crazy. They think I'm super cool, and I keep acting like it because I can't turn off my people pleaser button!

So what I've been trying to do when they ring the bell is to come up with some excuse like Solei is sleeping so they'll eventually get bored and stop ringing my bell at weird times though the day!!

But NO, my plan was shattered by my Honest Abe husband. Oh MAN was I furious!! I stormed outside to see some 10 year old boy I had met once, and 3 of his friends he had brought to see The American Woman. The just stood there in awe and stared at me while I kept making polite conversation because I CAN'T TURN IT OFF.

After I sent them on their way, I went back and fumed at Jared, who still held firm to his Honest Answer. Gah. He can't change who he is, and I can't change who I am.

CURSES!!!

^%$&^$^%$#$%#@$%#@$%#@^%$#&^$&^$&^%$&

No, I still have no idea where or what we are doing with our lives. Just thought I'd mention it.

I will also mention that I really don't know what I'll do with myself when we move and I will have no housekeeper. I really don't. Life with Belle taking care of Solei and I has been a dream - I have tasted of the delicacy that is a housekeeper and I can't go back to taking care of things myself!!! I just can't, it's too sweet!!

I have been very, very lucky. I will say this. VERY lucky. Oh... it has been sweet.

End of February we should be leaving. Maybe sooner, maybe later. I have no idea. Nope, nada, not a stitch.

I want to sneak our housekeeper in illegally into America!! But unfortch, her family loves her. Boo.

SUPERCRACK is loving the good life just a little while longer....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel