border

baby smiles

December 07, 2006 at 2:08 p.m.

I had another adventure today. I headed out again, this time with Solei in the Baby Bjorn-thingy (backpack, but on my chest) because it was cool enough so she wouldn�t overheat, and because I wanted bread. There�s a padaria a few blocks up a hill a few blocks away and I was just carb-crazed enough to get out of the house.

Part of me wishes I was back home in America, where I would have already have made many excursions with Solei, and I�d be old hat at this. She LOVES to go out and see the world. I don�t have a car, and the so-nice-I�m-in-your-face manner of Brasilians makes me shy from going anywhere when I can�t speak the language. Every where I go, they are in my face, wanting to talk or to help, and I just can�t understand when they talk so darn fast.

�Repetir, mais devagar, por favor,� I ask, but I probably don�t understand most of the �palavras� anyway. I really ought to bring my Portuguese dictionary around more often, but since Jared has been hounding me with my accent, I say �Eu nao entendo Portuguese muito bem� so convincingly that they think I�m being modest and I really DO speak Portuguese. I guess you could say I do, very basically, but I�d rather not. Then they talk fast and I don�t understand and since I�m so good at pretending like I understand with the smile and head nodding that I do from reflex (dang I�m such a people pleaser!!) they get all confused when I don�t answer their questions because I had no idea they were asking me anything!

So it�s just easier to hide in the house. Besides, that hill was steep!

^%*&^$^&#$^%$#%^$#^%$$#^%$*%$&^%$%&%$^%$#^%$#

It was SO GOOD for a few days � Solei was sleeping allllll night people!! But then yesterday she woke up at 5am. Hmmm� and today, she was up at 2am! 4am! 6am! And I can�t go back to sleep once I feed her, so after the 2am feeding, I was wide awake to hear her at 4. I was drowsy at 6, but not by much. CURSES! I thought I had this worked out!

I really love her when she sleeps all night� that�s so terrible to say! But really, there�s a lot of gratitude and joy in my eyes after a long night's sleep that helps me love her just a bit more.

Can babies be thankful? I know it�s pretty much me-me-gimme-gimme when they are toddlers, and you really have to earn a sense of gratitude in this life, but babies I think know way more than we think they know. I think they forget as they grow, but I�m pretty sure Solei knew who I was, I mean, she was fresh from heaven!

I know babies really are only aware of their physical needs, but just now Solei was crying her head off, hungry as all get out, and when I finally was ready to nurse her � she paused for a minute before latching on to look right up at me and smile her most beautiful smile. I SWEAR it was a thank-you smile.

Jared just found this picture of me as a baby � and Solei looks verra much like me. I need to take a pic from the same angle to compare, but here for your perusal is me, just under 27 years ago:

Hmm.. I think I look a ton like my brother Rhys in that picture�� (that's probably why his wife digs me so much!!) well, regardless, that�s Solei�s smile right there. She�s got daddy�s chin, but she�s got my smile. It�s like God made a most attractive me! I�m cool with that:)


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel