border

turkey day sans turkey and day

November 23, 2006 at 9:19 p.m.

Years ago my mother really embarrassed me by telling my boyfriend�s mom thoughtlessly that any man that wanted to marry me had to be wealthy enough to hire a maid because I�d be a horrible housekeeper. She wasn�t considering that the guy and I really were thinking about marriage and so telling my possible MIL that I was a total slob was enough to freak me out a tad � but she was right. I AM a slob.

Incidentally, he and I buried a time capsule in my backyard with letters to each other and our two-years-in-the-future selves, which I dug up a few years later for a little closure with my boyfriend at the time. I figured it was fair, he was married and had never mentioned it to me even though he�d e.mailed me a few times over the years. I�d always felt bad how things had ended, even though I knew they needed to. As it turns out from his letter, he didn�t plan on things working back then anyway. Huh. Wish I�d known that as I was burying the thing, that might have kept me from making such insane choices the next two years� (interestingly enough � this blog stared in the middle of those 2 years�. Nope, this wasn�t one of the mistakes:)

Why was I telling you this story again? Oh yeah, back to the beginning of this entirely useless trip down memory lane - my mother outing my slovenly behavior. She�s said it more than once, and she�s always been right. Luckily, Mr. Reva (maybe I�ll start calling Jared that from now on? Catchy!) wasn�t deterred by that. Or my lack of cooking skills. Or my insane amount of school debt. Dang I�m lucky.

Anywho, mom�s prophetic comments finally came true. We hired on a housekeeper yesterday. She�s a friend of ours that we trust, she is �retiring� from her other job and wanted something to do part-time. And apparently, she actually LIKES to clean.

I feel relieved and useless at the same time. I really can�t clean this house, as much as I feel like I should. It�s so huge, and so different than an American house. It takes a lot of physical energy, as opposed to our place in Georgia that mostly required picking the right appliance for the job (I miss my Roomba!)

Housekeeping is really cheap here, so it made sense to go ahead and do it, but at the same time, I feel like since I don�t have a job other than caring for Solei, I should really also be super housecleaning-cook lady. But I can�t, and it takes all I have to be able to get up in the morning and keep ahead of the pooing and feeding and burping and puking and screaming and playing and changing and what-not.

Of course now this means I have to wear a shirt. Crap.


&^%&^%*&%&^%&^#$%$#^%$^%$&%*&^%

The internet has been quiet today. Everyone is sitting down and having feasts and such, getting in fights with their parents and resting up for the Christmas rush that officially begins tomorrow.

Our official feast is on Sunday, but today we went uber-American, trailer style. Chili cheese dogs, fries and homemade rootbeer (he�s sooo good at it!). It was just what we had sitting around, but the irony of such American fare isn�t lost on me. Gah. 26 years of turkey and the closest I got to it this year was a bag of turkey-flavored potato chips that one of the missionaries just brought by. It�s not a gimmick � it�s a popular flavor here, along with bacon-flavored Pringles. (the turkey chips were nasty, by the way. But you knew that, didn�t you?)

I�m thankful for you guys out there. Thanks for making me feel like I�m not alone. For sharing thoughts with me, kind words and your lives. I appreciate every single one of you who stops by my corner on the intraweb, even if you don�t send big fate notes (my current comment thing only allows 5 per page, how insane is that? I don�t really have the time lately to go looking for a new comments provider, so bah humbug). Anywho, hope you all had a wonderful holiday and I look forward to hearing all about it.

SUPERCRACK is thankful.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel